5 “How To” Articles that will get you on your way to becoming a member of the social media nation

Posted on August 4, 2011

2


Here are a list of 5 how to articles that I have found useful in the early stages of my social media experience.  I hope that you will find them useful too!

1. Google Alerts: I have set up a couple of Google Alerts.  This article written by Lavall Chichester on FamousBloggers.net will tell you why Google alerts can be of great use, and it will also provide a very good set of instructions on how to go about getting your alerts started. Don’t be afraid to set up several alerts, it is easy to remove one and modify it to get the right content that you are looking for.

2.  Twitter.  I am currently taking a social media class via Don Stanley but had I not gotten such great insight from him I would have used this article by Michael Hyatt on MichaelHyatt.com.  It provides  great step by step instructions on how to begin your twitter adventure, and, if your anything like me, will get you on your way to becoming a twitter addict.

3. Twitter Lists:  I do not have massive amounts of followers on twitter but if I ever do (or even if I don’t) I will be utilizing this video by Craig H. Collins on CraigCollins.com about  how to get the most use out of the list feature of Twitter.   Once you start to follow people who send several hundred tweets a day you will wonder how ever would have survived without knowing these tips.

4. LinkedIn: I am currently in the process of updating my LinkedIn Account and I will use the advice of Neal Schaffer and his article Young Professionals: Getting Started with LinkedIn which offers very sound advice on how to get yourself noticed using the site.

5. HootSuite: This is my favorite 3rd part application for managing all of my social media accounts.  It is very easy to use and contains a lot of features within the free version.  Here is a useful video via Technically Speaking Blog to help you with your management skills!  There will be a  post detailing why this is my favorite manager in the future.

Look for another post this Sunday!

 

Jon Ziegler

Posted in: Uncategorized