What You Need to Know About Social Media Nation

Posted on February 19, 2012

0


Hey Everyone!

I am back in the swing of things and will begin blogging at least twice a week (probably Thursdays and Sundays) so I thought I would give you a little bit more information about  myself.

I am a Senior at the University of Wisconsin Madison majoring in life sciences communication and am on the job hunt as I am graduating in May!  I am originally from New Glarus, Wisconsin which is an extremely small town (about 2000 people).  I grew up a block away from a park so I love being outdoors, playing soccer, golf, and disc golf are regular activities when the weather is nice enough.

While at the university I have been in several marketing classes and have noticed a definite trend toward social media this, on top of consumers trend toward not trusting traditional advertising (90% of consumers do not trust advertisements), has sparked my interest in social media marketing.  It seems like a very effective tool that all companies should be utilizing, and this blog will help those business owners who know they should be on social media but are stuck.

Another huge part of my life is volunteering and helping charities.  I am a type 1 diabetic and have been for nearly 20 years.  I raise money to help find a cure for diabetes and my help my fraternity (Theta Chi) raise money for the MACC Fund and Carbone Cancer Center, our organization has raised nearly $250,000 for them over the years. I like helping others people out and may post a little about non-profit social media marketing on this blog as well.

 

Thanks for Reading!

 

Posted in: Uncategorized